Events & Tickets

Classic Album Sundays presents Johnny Cash ‘Forever Words’ with John Carter Cash

We are delighted to be joined by John Carter Cash son of country music icons Johnny Cash and June Carter Cash, on Wednesday, March 21st 2018 at The Courtyard Theatre in London to launch the new album Forever Words, an album of Cash’s unknown poems and other writings transformed into new songs by contemporary artists such as Chris Cornell, Rosanne Cash, Alison Krauss & Union Station, Kris Kristofferson & Willie Nelson, John Mellencamp, Elvis Costello and more.

When Johnny Cash and June Carter Cash passed, they left behind what John Carter Cash, their son and Johnny Cash: Forever Words co-producer, describes as a “monstrous amassment” of things, including a treasure trove of undiscovered material that includes Johnny Cash’s handwritten letters, poems and documents, penned across the entirety of his life.

Over the past two years, album producers John Carter Cash and Steve Berkowitz invited a stellar cast of musicians to create new music to accompany these newly discovered Cash writings.

Recorded primarily at The Cash Cabin Studio in Hendersonville, Tennessee, Johnny Cash: Forever Words is also the musical companion to the best-selling Forever Words: The Unknown Poems, a volume of Cash’s unpublished writing edited by Pulitzer Prize-winning poet Paul Muldoon and curated by John Carter Cash and Steve Berkowitz.

“Determining the artist for each song was truly a matter of the heart,” said John Carter Cash. “I picked the artists who are most connected with my father, who had a personal story that was connected with Dad. It became an exciting endeavor to go through these works, to put them together and present them to different people who could finish them in a way that I believed that Dad would have wanted.”

When making the Forever Words album, producers John Carter Cash and Steve Berkowitz tapped into a spirit of musical collaboration between the musicians and the words of Johnny Cash. The goal of Johnny Cash’s Forever Words was not to create a “lost” Johnny Cash album, but rather for musicians to connect with these poems and allow them to flourish in a new musical world.

Johnny Cash Forever Words Track List

1. “Forever/I Still Miss Someone” – Kris Kristofferson and Willie Nelson
2. “To June This Morning” – Ruston Kelly and Kacey Musgraves
3. “Gold All Over the Ground” – Brad Paisley
4. “You Never Knew My Mind” – Chris Cornell
5. “The Captain’s Daughter” – Alison Krauss and Union Station
6. “Jellico Coal Man” – T Bone Burnett
7. “The Walking Wounded” – Rosanne Cash
8. “Them Double Blues” – John Mellencamp
9. “Body on Body” – Jewel
10. “I’ll Still Love You” – Elvis Costello
11. “June’s Sundown” – Carlene Carter
12. “He Bore It All” – Dailey & Vincent
13. “Chinky Pin Hill” – I’m With Her
14. “Goin’, Goin’, Gone” – Robert Glasper featuring Ro James,and Anu Sun
15. “What Would I Dreamer Do?” – The Jayhawks
16. “Spirit Rider” – Jamey Johnson

Join us as Classic Album Sundays founder and BBC 6music host Colleen ‘Cosmo’ Murphy will interview John Carter Cash on the stories about his father life in music and his incredible legacy. This will be followed by a full album playback and then a Q&A allowing fans to ask questions of their own.


Time & Date: Wednesday March 21st 2018 19:00 – 22:00

Venue: Courtyard Theatre, 40 Pitfield Street, London N1 6EU

Tickets: £15 plus booking fee in advance here

Presenters: Colleen ‘Cosmo’ Murphy with John Carter Cash

Audio Menu: Dynavector D17D3 MC CartridgeRega P9 TurntableRega IOS Phono Stage Audio Note Jinro Integrated AmpChord Signature Speaker CableChord Signature Tuned Aray interconnectsISOL-8 Substation Integra Power Conditioner, Klipsch La Scala Loudspeakers and Klipsch SW115 Subs.


Posted on:


  1. Gloria Taylor

    I was wondering when this album will be available to buy and will it also be available on CD?

  2. Classic Album Sundays

    HI Gloria, Its coming out on the 6th April and I’m sure you can preorder. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply